Drinks / For one / No oven / Recipes / Sweet / Treats - no flour / vegetarian

Blood orange, honey and cinnamon yoghurt drink

IMG_2738

Have I been tiresome towards you, friends? Have I been bequeathing you many multi-stage, fussy recipes? Yes. Yes, I have. Have something truly simple. (It does require a blender, though. ETA: I suppose you could also stick it into a lidded jar and shake well.)

Blood orange season is, obviously, in full swing. I think they’re such a treat; they’re one of the seasonal fruits which I pretty much gorge on when the time comes. I tell myself it’s okay because it’s fruit and it fits into the budget.

IMG_2737

But, you know, my palate (and teeth enamel) sometimes wish for blood oranges to pass my lips in a manner different from usual (raw flesh, bare teeth). While their complex, mildly bitter, berry-ish flavour is good for cooking, there are other ways to appreciate it. I’ve seen blood orange and fennel salad around; I may try that.

In the meantime, this yoghurt drink is quick and easy. I’ve made it again and again.

IMG_2575

Supreming blood oranges

Yes, hello again, supremed oranges. You don’t have to make these pretty as they’re going to be blended. I think they’re supremes because they add more body to the finished drink, which is smooth and bright. But, you know, it takes time to do: for me, 9 – 12 minutes per orange. (Maybe I’m just slow, though.)

IMG_2494

Fresh blood orange juice

Alternatively you could juice them, adding any pulp, and maybe also a banana, as in this recipe. Do it how you fancy.  I’ve made it juiced and supremed and, honestly, there’s not much difference. Even if you juice them, blending or beating is recommended as it aerates the drink; the bubbles make it so delicious when you sip.

IMG_2581

Because I didn’t want to use up so much yoghurt, I added a little whole milk, making it less thick and tangy but not really less rich. I dialed back the honey accordingly though.

While it’s still very much hot drink weather, this is good to have as it’s just cool enough to be refreshing.  If it were summer I’d maybe blend in some ice cubes to keep it cold and compensate for the hot weather.

IMG_2589

Sweet glasses J and I got from S (thank you!)

BLOOD ORANGE, CINNAMON & HONEY YOGHURT DRINK

Makes 1 big glass (about 400ml).  Easily doubled.

You can garnish (and add further flavour to) this with supremes, zest, chopped nuts, and spices if you want.

If you don’t have a blender, you could try shaking the mixture vigorously in a sealed jar or similar.

ingredients

1 blood orange
1 dessertspoon –  1 tablespoon runny honey
150ml plain yoghurt (pick one you like to eat, and use all yoghurt if you like)
100ml milk
Good pinch of ground cinnamon, plus extra for dusting if liked

instructions

Juice the oranges into the blender jug or cup. I just use a citrus reamer. Add the pulp, too. Pour in the honey, yoghurt, milk, and sprinkle in the cinnamon. Blend for barely a minute til frothy and combined. Pour and serve immediately.

One thought on “Blood orange, honey and cinnamon yoghurt drink

Comments are closed.